Panama leaves the black list of tax havens of the European Union

Seven other countries, such as Barbados, Macao and Korea, will also be removed from the list.

The finance ministers of the European Union agreed that eight countries, including Panama, should be eliminated from the black list of tax havens, one month after it was determined.

Barbados, Grenada, the Republic of Korea, Macao, Mongolia, Tunisia and the United Arab Emirates, are nations that will be excluded from the list, like Panama, “after the commitments assumed at the highest political level to remedy the concerns of the EU, “the ministers said in a statement.

This decision is in line with the recommendations made by tax experts of the European Union, and is interpreted by many as a sign that there was progress in the process because countries around the world agreed to adopt rules of the European block on fiscal transparency .

“Jurisdictions around the world have worked hard to make commitments to reform their fiscal policies, and our goal is to promote good fiscal management at the global level,” said Vladislav Goranov, Bulgarian Finance Minister, the country that holds the rotating presidency of the EU.

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

You May Also Like

Best Buy acquires health services company for 800 million dollars

Best Buy will buy Healthcare Provider GreatCall for $ 800 million in…

Signing of payment services Global Payments buys TSYS for US $21.5 billion

On Tuesday, payments services company, Global Payments, Inc announced that it will…

Shareholders of Enel Americas approve US $3 billion in capital increase

The shareholders of the energy group Enel Américas approved on Tuesday the…